Board of Directors

The SFYB Board of Directors is comprised of individuals united to see improved health and well-being of African American infants. Members represent a variety of backgrounds and skills.

SFYB Board of Directors

2013-2014 Board: Back row (L-R): Hope Wills, Eardell Harrison, Martina Travis, Denise Boyd, April Brown, Danisha Lawrence, Diane R. Griggs. Front row (L-R): Teddy Hopson, Elizabeth Woods, Lydia Boyd, Meridith Merchant


Veronica Anderson
Information Regional Technical Specialist
Defense Contract Audit Agency

April W. Brown, MHA
Post-Award Grant Manager,  Office of Sponsored Programs
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science
SFYB Secretary

Diane R. Griggs, LCSW, RPT-S
Mental Health Consultant
SFYB Board Chair

Theodore (Teddy) O. Hopson, MBA
SFYB Treasurer

Danisha Lawrence, MPA
Director of Human Resources
Associated Student, Inc – Cal Poly Pomona

Angie Denisse Otiniano Verissimo, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
College of Natural Sciences
Department of Health Science & Human Ecology
California State University, San Bernardino

Francia Telesford, MSW
College Counselor
United Friends of the Children

Mignon Washington, MS
Management Analyst
Department of Public Works
SFYB Board Vice Chair

Kira Watson, MPH

Elizabeth Woods, MA, MPH
SFYB Founder & Interim Executive Director